The 2011 Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Three Remarkable Women

For Peace, Democracy, and Rights 1 of 5

Oct. 7, 2011 -- Yemeni opposition leader Tawakul Karman, Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee were awarded the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize today for their efforts in Yemen and Liberia.

Women in the Middle East, like the three recipients, are more socially active now [especially in the protests that have swept across the region], but conservatives have tried to keep them out of the spotlight. The Norwegian Nobel Committee chose to award these three leaders to cast light on women's rights in the Middle East. The committee described the prize as a call to women all over the world:

“We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society."

Continue reading to learn more about Karman, Johnson Sirleaf, and Gbowee.

Trina Otero • Culture & Politics Writer