The 2011 Nobel Prize Winners

Nobel Prize in Physics 1 of 7

The Nobel Prizes are awarded to pioneering individuals within six different fields, from Physics to Literature, every year. This year's winners were honored for their courage, talent, discoveries about the universe, human immunity to diseases, and much more.

American astrophysicists Saul Perlmutter, Brian Schmidt and Adam Riess were awarded the prize for discoveries showing the universe is expanding at an accelerated rate. They think the acceleration is driven by dark energy, and what the dark energy consists of is still a mystery.

Find out more!

Trina Otero • Culture & Politics Writer