Avenged Sevenfold

Avenged Sevenfold

Avenged Sevenfold is a melodic, heavy metal band from Huntington Beach California. They have five full-length albums, and their latest, 'Nightmare,' debuted at number one on the Billboard charts.

About Avenged Sevenfold

Known for: "Bat County," "Seize the Day," "Almost Easy" and "Afterlife."

Avenged Sevenfold, or A7X, formed in Huntington Beach California in 1999 but did not reach mainstream commercial success until 2005. They started out playing very aggressive hardcore music and it has slowly transformed into radio-friendly heavy metal over the years.

Their first big single, "Bat Country," came with the release of 2005's 'City of Evil.' The song pays tribute to the temptations of sin city and also to the late Hunter S. Thompson. The success of "Bat Country" earned A7X a main stage spot on 2006's Ozzfest with System of a Down and Disturbed.

In 2009, tragedy struck A7X with the death of drummer The Rev. He was found dead in his house on December 28th at the young age of 28. An autopsy later ruled the death as "accidental overdose" after they found a mixture of Oxycodone, Oxymorphone, Diazepam. The Rev had a long history of drug abuse.

Avenged Sevenfold’s fifth album, ‘Nightmare,’ was released on July 27th, 2010. The album contains some of the songs The Rev had written before he passed. The band chose Mike Portray of Dream Theater to fill in because he was one of the Rev's favorite drummers. The band has dedicated their album to their fallen friend and band mate Jimmy ‘The Rev’ Sullivan.

M. Shadows - vocals
Zacky Vengeance – rhythm guitar
Synyster Gates – lead guitar
Johnny Christ – bass guitar

’Sounding the Seventh Trumpet’ (2001)
’Waking the Fallen’ (2003)
’City of Evil ‘(2005)
’Avenged Sevenfold’ (2007)
’Nightmare’ (2010)