Big 12 Conference

Big 12 Conference

About Big 12 Conference

The Big 12 Conference is a college athletic conference of ten schools, with headquarters located in Irving, Texas. It is a member of the NCAA's Division I for all sports; its football teams compete in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS; formerly Division I-A), the higher of two levels of NCAA Division I football competition. Member schools are located in Iowa, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, and West Virginia. According to the Big 12 Conference's website, the alternate names 'Big Twelve' and 'Big XII' are incorrect. The trademarked name of the conference is Big 12 Conference, notwithstanding the Roman numeral XII featured on the conference logo. The current Big 12 Commissioner is Bob Bowlsby. The Big 12 Conference is the second youngest of the major college athletic conferences in the United States, having formed in 1994 from a merger of one of the oldest conferences, the Big Eight, with four prominent colleges from Texas.

Contributions by Kgwo1972, ESkog, and BuffaloChip97.

New Questions for Big 12 Conference

See All Questions