Big East Conference

Big East Conference

About Big East Conference

The Big East Conference is a collegiate athletics conference consisting of sixteen universities in the eastern half of the United States. The conference's 17 members (15 full-time and 2 associate member) participate in 24 NCAA sports. Eight of the seventeen conference schools are football members and the Big East competes as a BCS conference in the Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), the top level of NCAA competition in that sport (also known by its former designation: Division I-A). Three members have football programs but are not Big East football schools: Georgetown and Villanova compete in the Football Championship Subdivision and Notre Dame plays as an FBS independent. The other five schoolsSeton Hall, St. John's, DePaul, Marquette, and Providencediscontinued their football programs.

Contributions by Dale Arnett, TimBoyee, and J.R. Hercules.

New Questions for Big East Conference

See All Questions