Big Ten Conference

Big Ten Conference

About Big Ten Conference

The Big Ten Conference (B1G), formerly Western Conference and Big Nine Conference, is the USA's oldest Division I college athletic conference. Its twelve member institutions (which are primarily flagship research universities in their respective states, well-regarded academically, and with relatively large student enrollment) are located primarily in the Midwestern USA, stretching from Nebraska in the west to Pennsylvania in the east, and from Indiana in the south to Minnesota in the north. The conference competes in the NCAA's Division I; its football teams compete in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), formerly known as Division I-A, the highest level of NCAA competition in that sport. Member schools of the Big Ten (or, in two cases, their parent university systems) also are members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, a leading educational consortium.

Contributions by Smith03, Dale Arnett, and Frank12.

New Questions for Big Ten Conference

See All Questions