Buffalo Bills

Buffalo Bills

The Buffalo Bills are a professional American football team based in Buffalo, New York. They are currently members of the East Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the National Football League (NFL) along with the Miami Dolphins, New England, and New York Jets.

About Buffalo Bills

The team began play in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). The club joined the National Football League (NFL) as part of the 1970 AFL-NFL Merger.

The Bills won two consecutive American Football League titles in 1964 and 1965, but the club has not won a league championship since then. Buffalo is also the only team to win four consecutive American Football Conference Championships, the only team in either conference to play in four consecutive Super Bowl games, and the only team ever to lose four consecutive Super Bowls.

The Bills were named as the result of the winning entry in a local contest, which named the team after the AAFC Buffalo Bills, a previous football franchise from the All-America Football Conference that merged with the Cleveland Browns in 1950. That team was named after the historic Buffalo Bill. The Bills' cheerleaders are known as the Buffalo Jills. The official mascot is Billy Buffalo; Cody is not used in the team's iconography at all.

They are the only New York NFL team to play their home games within New York state proper. Both the New York Jets and the New York Giants play in East Rutherford, New Jersey, nine miles from their headquarters in New York City.

League championships: AFL Championships- 1964, 1965
Conference championships: AFC: 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993
Division championships:AFL East: 1964, 1965, 1966; AFC East: 1980, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1995
Playoff appearances: AFL: 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966; NFL: 1974, 1980, 1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999