The United States Congress is the bicameral, two house, legislature of the United States of America. It is made up of the 100 member Senate and 435 member House of Representatives. The House of Representatives is considered the ''lower house,'' while the Senate is deemed the ''upper house.'' The current Congress is the 112th.

About Congress

The United States Congress is arranged according to Article I of the US Constitution.

Senators and Representatives are chosen through direct election. Each member of the House of Representatives represents a district and serves a two-year term. House seats are portioned among the states by population. Each state has two senators, who serve six-year terms. Senate terms are staggers, so for every two years, there are 33 seats available.

Congress authorizes federal budget spending, through the powers to impose and collect taxes. Congress has the power to borrow money on the credit of the United States, coin money and regulate the value of foreign money, establish post offices and roads, to declare war and support a military, and verify the appointment of executive appointments.