Gluten-free diet

Gluten-free diet

About Gluten-free diet

A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, malts and triticale. It is used as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent, often as 'dextrin'. A gluten-free diet is the only medically accepted treatment for celiac disease, the related condition dermatitis herpetiformis, and wheat allergy. A gluten-free diet might also exclude oats. Medical practitioners are divided on whether oats are an allergen to celiac disease sufferers or if they are cross-contaminated in milling facilities by other allergens. Oats may also be contaminated when grown in rotation with wheat (wheat seeds from the previous harvest sprouting up again in the oat field and being harvested along with the oats). The term gluten-free is generally used to indicate a supposed harmless level of gluten rather than a complete absence.