Indiana State University

Indiana State University

Indiana State University is a public college established in 1865 in Terre Haute, Indiana. ISU offers over 100 majors and the school's colors are Sycamore blue and white. Students can earn undergraduate, graduate and doctorate degrees. The athletic teams are the Sycamores with the mascot being Sycamore Sam.

About Indiana State University

Indiana State University was established on December 20, 1865 as Indiana State Normal School by the Indiana General Assembly. It started out as a school to educated elementary and high school teachers, eventually being renamed to Indiana State Teachers College in 1929. In 1961, it was renamed to Indiana State College when it began expanding the subjects students could study. Four years later, it earned the name it still has today, Indiana State University.

The ISU campus is over 200 acres in downtown Terre Haute. It is organized into six academic colleges:

College of Arts and Sciences
Donald W. Scott College of Business
Bayh College of Education
College of Graduate and Professional Studies
College of Nursing, Health, and Human Services
College of Technology