Lacto-ovo vegetarianism

Lacto-ovo vegetarianism

About Lacto-ovo vegetarianism

An ovo-lacto vegetarian (or lacto-ovo vegetarian) is a vegetarian who does not eat animal flesh of any kind, but consumes dairy and egg products. In contrast, a vegetarian who consumes no animal products at all is called a vegan. The terminology stems from the Latin lac meaning 'milk' (as in 'lactation'), ovum meaning 'egg', and the English term vegetarian (see Etymology of vegetarianism for the etymology of 'vegetarian'), so as giving the definition of a vegetarian diet containing milk and eggs. In the Western world lacto-ovo vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian. Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian a lacto-ovo vegetarian is assumed. Lacto-ovo vegetarians are often well-catered to in restaurants and shops, especially in some parts of Europe and metropolitan cities in North America. In the airline industry, a lacto-ovo vegetarian meal is known by the acronym VLML (for Vegetarian, Lacto-ovo MeaL).

Contributions by Nirvana2013, Bob98133, and Flyer22.