Lacto vegetarianism

Lacto vegetarianism

About Lacto vegetarianism

A lacto vegetarian diet is a vegetarian diet that includes dairy products such as milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, ghee, cream, and kefir, but excludes eggs. Lacto-vegetarians also abstain from cheeses that include animal rennet and yogurts that contain gelatin. The concept and practice of lacto-vegetarianism among a significant number of people comes from ancient India and was originally based on religious beliefs. The greatest proportion of vegetarians, such as those in India or those in the area of the classical Mediterranean such as the Pythagoreans, are or were lacto-vegetarian. Lacto-vegetarian diets are popular with many followers of the Eastern religious traditions such as Hinduism, Sikhism, Jainism and Buddhism. The cores of their beliefs are behind a lacto-vegetarian diet is the law of ahimsa, or non-violence. According to the Vedas (Hindu holy scriptures), all living beings are equally valued.

Contributions by Atmapuri, 82.16.27.50, and Bob98133.