Major League Baseball (MLB): Major League Baseball is the organization that operates the National League and the American League, Each league is further subdivided into three divisions, labeled East, Central, and West.

About MLB

In 2000, the two leagues were consolidated into a single organization under the direction of the commissioner's office. MLB effectively operates as one of the major professional sports leagues of the United States. It is currently composed of 30 teams—29 in the United States and one in Canada. In conjunction with the International Baseball Federation, the MLB also manages the World Baseball Classic.

Each season consists of 162 games (with an additional game, or games, in case of a tie breaker needed to determine postseason participation), which generally begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the first Sunday in October, with the postseason played in October and sometimes into early November.


For its founding year, Major League Baseball (the current official organization) uses 1869—the year in which the first professional team, the Cincinnati Red Stockings, was established—and held official celebrations for its 100th anniversary in 1969 and its 125th anniversary in 1994, both of which were commemorated with league-wide shoulder patches. The present-day Chicago Cubs and Atlanta Braves franchises trace their histories back to the National Association of Professional Base Ball Players in the early 1870s. Many believe that the formation of the National League in 1876 is the beginning of Major League Baseball. Others believe the signing of the National Agreement in 1903 (two seasons after the American League's formation in 1901) is the true beginning of Major League Baseball.

MLB Tickets

New Questions for MLB

See All Questions