The National Basketball Association is the highest level of competitive basketball in the World. The league is made up of 30 teams competing in an East-West Conference format, with each Conference having divisions.

About NBA

The NBA refers to the National Basketball Association, which is the highest level of professional basketball in the United States. It is comprised of 30 teams, 29 in the United States and 1 in Canada (Toronto Raptors). The league was created in 1946 in New York City as the Basketball Association of America (BAA). The league adopted the name National Basketball Association in 1949 after merging with the rival National Basketball League (NBL). The NBA consists of two conferences, the Eastern and Western. Those conferences are then broken down into three regional conferences each.

The regular season starts in November, immediately after training camp in October. The season ends around late April which marks the beginning of the playoffs. The NBA playoffs consist of the eight best teams from each conference. Three division winners and a fourth team with the best record are given the top four seeds. The lower four seeds go to the next best record teams in the conference. The teams are matched up according to their opposite seed and then play a 7 game series which means the first team to win 4 games will pass to the next round until one team from each conference is left.

The NBA Finals consists of the last team in each conference facing off in a best of 7 game series (first to win 4 games). Home court advantage is in a 2-3-2 format which means a team will have home court advantage in the first two games, play the rival on the road in the middle three games, and finish the series at home. This techinique has been in place since 1985.

Eastern Conference:
Boston Celtics
New Jersey Nets
New York Knocks
Philadelphia 76ers
Toronto Raptors

Chicago Bulls
Cleveland Cavaliers
Detroit Pistons
Indiana Pacers
Milwaukee Bucks

Atlanta Hawks
Charlotte Bobcats
Miami Heat
Orlando Magic
Washington Wizards

Western Conference:
Denver Nuggets
Minnesota Timberwolves
Oklahoma City Thunder
Portland Trail Blazers
Utah Jazz

Golden STate Warriors
Los Angeles Clippers
Los Angeles Lakers
Phoenix Suns
Sacremento Kings

Dallas Mavericks
Houston Rockets
Memphis Grizzlies
New Orleans Hornets
San Antonio Spurs

New Questions for NBA

See All Questions