New York Yankees

New York Yankees

The New York Yankees are a professional baseball team based out of the Bronx neighborhood, in New York City, New York. They are in the division of the MLB known as the American League East. Other current American League East teams are the Baltimore Orioles, the Boston Red Sox, the Toronto Blue Jays (joined in 1977), and the Tampa Bay Rays (joined in 1998).

About New York Yankees

Even if you are not a baseball follower you have probably heard about the New York Yankees. The team is affectionately known as the 'Bronx Bombers'. The Yankees have countless fans all over the World, and one can rarely go anywhere without quickly spotting someone wearing one of their pinstriped jerseys or hats.

The Yankees were one of the eight original teams in the American League. Originally the team was formed in 1901 in Baltimore, Maryland and know as the Baltimore Orioles, then in 1903 they relocated to New York City and changed their name to the New York Highlanders, finally they settled upon the name Yankees in 1913.

The Yankees are somewhat the reigning king of professional baseball, leading the Major Leagues in revenue and in championship titles (40 American League Pennants, and 27 World Series titles). Success at the scale that the Yankees have enjoyed is unprecedented in professional sports. They have had 44 players inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame. This includes some of the game's all-time legends such as Babe Ruth, Joe Dimaggio, Mickey Mantle, Lou Gehrig, and Yogi Berra. Current stars such as Derek Jeter, Alex Rodriguez, and Mariano Rivera will eventually be Hall of Famers.