NFL, or the National Football League, is American pro football's highest level. It is made up of 32 teams and two conferences -- the AFC (American Football Conference) and the NFC (National Football Conference).

About NFL

NFL stands for National Football League and is the highest level of professional American style football. It was created in 1920 as the American Professional Football Association with only 11 teams. Now, the NFL consists of 32 teams and is divided into the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC). Each conference consists of four divisional conferences (North, South, East, and West).For 17 weeks spanning the Fall and Winter Seasons, teams match up on Sundays with a featured single game on Sunday night and Monday night. At the end of the 17 weeks, the four division winners and the two teams with the best record from each conference face off in the playoffs until one team from each conference is left. The final matchup between the two teams is referred to as the Superbowl, which is usually held in early February. Founded: August 20, 1920, in Canton, OhioCommissioner: Roger GoodellInaugural season:1920No. of teams: 32Country(ies): United StatesMost recent champion(s) Green Bay PackersMost titles Green Bay Packers (12 titles)TV partner(s): CBS, Fox, NBC, ESPN, NFL Network

New Questions for NFL

See All Questions