Spain is a country in southwestern Europe and is a member of the European Union. It is known for sports such as bullfighting, soccer, and tennis, but also for art. Pablo Picasso, one of the most well know artists, was born in Spain.

About Spain

Spain, officially the Kingdom of Spain, is a sovereign state and a member of the European Union located in southwestern Europe on the Iberian Peninsula. Its mainland is bordered to the south and east by the Mediterranean Sea except for a small land boundary with the British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar, to which Spain lays claim; to the north and north east by France, Andorra, and the Bay of Biscay; and to the northwest and west by the Atlantic Ocean and Portugal. Spanish territory also includes the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean off the African coast, and two autonomous cities in North Africa, Ceuta and Melilla, that border Morocco plus Alborn island, the Chafarinas islands (Islas Chafarinas), Alhucemas island and Perejil (Parsley island). Furthermore, the town of Llvia is a Spanish exclave situated inside French territory.

Contributions by Miguel, Montrealais, and Perique des Palottes.

New Questions for Spain

See All Questions