U.S. Presidents

U.S. Presidents

From George Washington to Barack Obama, there have been 44 Presidents of the United States. President Franklin Delano Roosevelt is the only president to be elected to more than two terms. President William Henry Harrison served the shortest term at only 30 days, 12 hours, and 30 minutes.

About U.S. Presidents

The President of the United States of America (POTUS) is the head of state and head of government of the United States. The president leads the executive branch of the federal government and is the commander-in-chief of the United States Armed Forces. Article II of the U.S. Constitution vests the executive power of the United States in the president and charges him with the execution of federal law, alongside the responsibility of appointing federal executive, diplomatic, regulatory, and judicial officers, and concluding treaties with foreign powers, with the advice and consent of the Senate. The president is further empowered to grant federal pardons and reprieves, and to convene and adjourn either or both houses of Congress under extraordinary circumstances.

Contributions by Jengod, Minesweeper, and Reddi.

New Questions for U.S. Presidents

See All Questions